United Way HPE Land Acknowledgement

We acknowledge and honour the fact that our service region is located on the territory of the Huron-Wendat, the Anishnaabeg[1], the Haudenosaunee[2] people, and directly adjacent to the Kenhté:ke – the Tyendinaga Territory – which is part of the Mohawk Nation.

We are grateful for the opportunity to live and work here, we are thankful for the generations of people who have taken care of this land – for thousands of years. We also recognize the contributions of Métis, Inuit, and other Indigenous peoples who have and continue to live in these communities.

United Way HPE is committed to acknowledging and appreciating the Indigenous Peoples’ historic connection to this land and to raise awareness of our Indigenous partners and communities. It is important to atone and rebuild. This acknowledgement is one small part of our journey – moving forward we are dedicated to listening to, learning from, and collaborating with indigenous communities and partners. We are committed to weaving this learning into our policies and practices on an ongoing basis.

“United Way Centraide Canada (UWCC) is committed to reconciliation with Indigenous Peoples. As a national charity with deep local impact, we view reconciliation as an opportunity to honour Indigenous Peoples across this land and elevate our commitment to them.” For more information on the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion & Indigenous Collaboration Strategy as outlined by United Way Centraide Canada (UWCC) please see the posted statements HERE. “These statements are not static…We may have to adjust along the way as we learn from our work, mistakes, and successes. But this work is too important to our communities and to Canadians for us to let those things get in our way.” UWCC President and CEO, Dan Clement.

[1] Anishinaabeg/Anishinaabek/Anishnabek/Anishnaabeg – this name covers Ojibway, Odawa, Algonquin, Potawatomi, Nipissing, Mississaugas, Saulteau, etc….all the Algonkian/Ojibwa Nations.

[2] Haudenosaunee – This name refers to the Iroquois Confederacy comprising of these Nations: Mohawk, Oneida, Onondaga, Cayuga, Seneca and Tuscarora.